Big, yellow and apparently offensive

I’m going to let you all in on the banana debacle that we have within the confines of our home. Now this is definitely not going to be my only post regarding this humble fruit because they feature quite heavily in our family’s day to day life. This particular blog doesn’t even contain a recipe, it is purely to let you all in on this part of our lives which will form the basis of a few posts I’m sure. 12096501_1922064821351402_8551976456074249376_n-Copy

There is a banana divide in the Tonkin residence; on one side sits my rugby playing, chainsaw wealding, bearded, 6 ft 2 husband who literally cannot walk down the fruit aisle in Sainsbury’s for fear of encountering a banana… I’m pretty sure he is convinced that they’d grow legs, run at him and smear their fleshy parts all over his face. Then there’s my son, who literally cannot get enough of them and happily smears them wherever seems feasible.

If you were to ask Kobe the best and worst part of being a parent, I am 99% sure that the worst thing would be the fact that Boden dares to consume bananas on a regular basis, or perhaps the fact that I even buy them in the first place.

I’m not going to lie, I secretly enjoy this situation. I have never in my life seen anyone take a banana so seriously, and he’s probably going to implode when he reads this but I think it’s totally worth it.

Therefore, I’ve taken it upon myself to see how many different things I can do with leftover, slightly speckled bananas that have seen better days… because you can’t waste opportunities like that in my house, and to throw away such a delicious, nutritious and versatile staple is quite frankly criminal!

So watch this space for banana related activity…

3 thoughts on “Big, yellow and apparently offensive

  1. So true La! Bananas are a huge staple in our family too and we just couldn’t live without them. Definitely a shame to waste them. 🙂

    Like

    1. I find them massively offensive too but apparently ‘ love does conquer all’ because not only am I letting my babies eat bananas, I’m even touching them, cutting them and holding them now!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

